Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this document, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this document.



ANNOUNCEMENT APPOINTMENT OF EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

On 11 June 2009, Mr. Chen Zuofu was elected as an executive director of China Construction Bank Corporation (the "**Bank**") by a resolution adopted at the 2008 annual general meeting (the "**AGM**"). China Banking Regulatory Commission (the "**CBRC**") has approved Mr. Chen Zuofu's qualification for office. The board of directors (the "**Board**") hereby formally announces that, effective from 24th July 2009, Mr. Chen Zuofu shall be appointed as an executive director of the Bank.

Mr. Chen Zuofu's emoluments shall be determined with reference to Interim Measures on Emoluments Distributions for Directors and Supervisors of China Construction Bank Corporation. The Nomination and Compensation Committee of the Board shall, at the end of each year, propose the emoluments distribution plan, which shall be presented to the Board for consideration and be subject to approval of the shareholders' meeting.

Please refer to Voting Results of 2008 Annual General Meeting held on 11 June 2009 on the website of Hong Kong Stock Exchange at www.hkex.com.hk on 11 June 2009 for Mr. Chen Zuofu's particulars and other relevant information.

The Board of the Bank welcomes Mr. Chen Zuofu to join the Board.

By order of the Board of Directors **China Construction Bank Corporation Zhang Jianguo** Vice Chairman, Executive Director and President

31 July 2009

As at the date of this announcement, the executive directors of the Bank are Mr. Guo Shuqing, Mr. Zhang Jianguo, Ms. Xin Shusen and Mr. Chen Zuofu; the non-executive directors of the Bank are Mr. Wang Yonggang, Mr. Wang Yong, Ms. Wang Shumin, Mr. Liu Xianghui, Mr. Zhang Xiangdong, Ms. Li Xiaoling and Mr. Gregory L. Curl; and the independent non-executive directors of the Bank are Lord Peter Levene, Mr. Song Fengming, Ms. Jenny Shipley, Ms. Elaine La Roche, Mr. Wong Kai-Man and Mr. Tse Hau Yin, Aloysius.